Love to Dakar

It was such a very special April this year, I had the chance to visit Dakar, Senegal. It was actually, a rich experience, I got deeply in touch with Africa, and I felt the strong attachment to my African roots.

Gorée Island, it’s one of the most famous islands in Senegal. From the 15th to the 19th century, it was the largest slave-trading centre on the African coast. Ruled in succession by the Portuguese, Dutch, English and French, its architecture is characterized by the contrast between the grim slave-quarters and the elegant houses of the slave traders. Today it continues to serve as a reminder of human exploitation and as a sanctuary for reconciliation.

Then, I had the opportunity to go to the Amazing African Renaissance Monument, I‘ve got amazed actually and specially when I read about its signification and aim: “Man, woman and their child will face in the sun, symbolizing the opening of the continent to the world. It is a driving force and attraction in size, stability and sustainability of Africa” says the President of Senegal Wade.

Moreover, People there are very warm, respectful and simple. My human experience in Dakar adds too much to my personality, and actually if I was supposed to go there one more time. I will say YES with no doubts 🙂IMG_0121IMG_0183

IMG_0122

IMG_0137

IMG_0141

IMG_0160

IMG_0167

IMG_0196

IMG_0205

Leave a Reply

